Winter Park is Awesomeness!

Very cool technology . . . design your engagement ring virtually online on the huge flat screen before you.

Very cool technology . . . design your engagement ring virtually online on the huge flat screen before you.

I received a little vocabulary update last night via the parents of an 11 year old girl. I’ve always enjoyed the word “awesome”. It seems the 2013 version is awesomeNESS. I’ve had the opportunity to use it a few times today, as it’s been a most delightful — excuse me — awesomeness Local day.

I’d met these parents, Chris & Dyanne Kozlowski, several times before, friends of friends, as the drill goes. I’d never heard their kid stories. The event we were all at was the grand opening party for The Unique Diamond Boutique on New England Avenue. They shared some sobering kid experiences while we sipped on wine, spring and summer rolls from Orchid Winter Park on Park Avenue.

I was invited to the event by Sue Hanna, who organized the party. I met her and I was immediately intrigued by an awesomeness pendant and chain she was wearing from the business. You’re not going to find me wearing it, obviously – or not, these days – but I am a definite fan of vintage women’s jewelry, vintage pieces in general. I’m a big Downton Abbey fan, and I LUV Mad Men. The vintage, period costumes and accessories help make the shows.

LUVed this vintage inspired pendant from The Unique Diamond Boutique, caught at their grand opening party on Thursday, April 25.

LUVed this vintage inspired pendant from The Unique Diamond Boutique, caught at their grand opening party on Thursday, April 25.

What was most impressive about The Unique Diamond Boutique, however, was how modern they are. They use custom, cutting edge software shown on a LARGE flat screen on the wall to custom design engagement and other rings down to the smallest detail. It makes so much sense, as you can really tell what you’re looking at when it’s blown up to 100 times the usual perspective on a screen in front of you. In addition, you receive a book which outlines the process involved in the design and production of your specific ring, following it through the process. If you’re one of the soon to get hitched, you’ve got a new spot in Winter Park to consider on your way to the altar.

I begin using ‘awesomeness’ in fun, but some word of a superlative nature is surely needed to describe this wonderful week. I won’t lie, some very good stuff is beginning to happen with my blog, my efforts to promote and celebrate Local. It’s nice, comforting, always feels good to see efforts begin to pay off. It’s also nice because a number of those things have related to the Local small businesses I work with directly. I take those relationships seriously, take nothing for granted, feel a responsibility to anyone who puts their faith in me. So, yes, it feels awesomeness when things start to work well. 

I LUV Your Style!  I'm not a fashion plate, for sure, but I do LUV fashion, enjoy it when I see someone who really seems to be comfortable, yet stands apart in their own.  So, I'm going to bringing that attention from time to time on the blog.  I LUV your style!  First up, June Smith, whom I met last night at The Unique Diamond Boutique grand opening party.  Such a cool, colorful tunic style shirt with this fun abstract pattern and thick, antique gold earrings . . . contemporary with a hint of vintage.  LUVed it!

I LUV Your Style! I’m not a fashion plate, for sure, but I do LUV fashion, enjoy it when I see someone who really seems to be comfortable, yet stands apart in their own. So, I’m going to bringing that attention from time to time on the blog. I LUV your style! First up, June Smith, whom I met last night at The Unique Diamond Boutique grand opening party. Such a cool, colorful tunic style shirt with this fun abstract pattern and thick, antique gold earrings . . . contemporary with a hint of vintage. LUVed it!

Awesomeness Fashion

Wednesday I stopped by The NEW Bistro in the Hidden Garden to take photos for a fashion show they were hosting for a number of shops directly around them on Park Avenue. Participating in the show were Bella on Park Avenue, Wearable Art, Blue Door Denim Shoppe, The Tugboat and the Bird and the Orlando Watch Company. (See photos on the NEW Bistro facebook page, LINK at the very end of this blog.)

Some very cool summer fashions on display from all participating businesses, including Bistro owner Erika Boesch in an amazing orange dress from Wearable Art. I keep telling her how great she looked in it, but she either refuses to believe or just wants to me to go on and one some more.  It was a great show and makes so much sense, I believe, for small groups of individual merchants to get together to show off what they offer, complimenting one another’s strengths and exposing potential new customers to one another. So, great job to everyone participating! Too, I’ve come to understand any fashion show involving kids is going to be entertaining.

:-)  Tugboat & The Bird fashions at The NEW Bistro.

🙂 Tugboat & The Bird fashions at The NEW Bistro.

One more mention on this. Back when I was writing for print, doing my Local LUV’n Local piece, which focused each week on a Local business selling something made or designed Locally, I included the Sophisticated Peacock, a Local business owned by Sindy and Diane Meltz. They do tunics and other tops, design themselves, have them made here Locally. They were included in the fashion show as well, wore their own designs, often paired with jewelry made by another Local. I will likely be writing more about them in the coming months.

Mr. David Elliott, who owned Cottrell's 5 & 10 on Park Avenue from the 50s to 1985, as he enjoys lunch with me at Linda's Winter Park Diner this afternoon.

Mr. David Elliott, who owned Cottrell’s 5 & 10 on Park Avenue from the 50s to 1985, as he enjoys lunch with me at Linda’s Winter Park Diner this afternoon.

This morning after posting my piece on Linda’s Winter Park Diner I took off for the diner with my neighbor, Mr. David Elliott, who owned Cottrell’s 5 & 10 on Park Avenue. It was nice to hear the positive comments regarding what I’d written, and I did chuckle a bit to hear how much crying had ensued. Good, touching stories evoke emotion, may bring about crying spells. So, it seemed another positive to me. Mr. Elliott LUVed his burger and, I’m guessing, may have enjoyed even more sitting next to Gina & Linda in the booth. Mr. Elliott, I will tell you, is quite a ladies’ man, the kind that begins with gentle(man). He’s a class act and it was fun to include him in one of my exploits! He marvels over social media, my references to facebook and Twitter and the like. He had a few trees come down in his yard a month or so ago. That resulted in an electrical episode which fried a number of his appliances, and his television. That large box he used to have as a television is now a large flat screen and it’s an update to new technology he is very much enjoying.

The Awesomeness Winter Park Paint Out

Winter Park painting guru Don Sondag and 2013 Winter Park Paint Out participant Don Sondag paints in the front gardens of the Polasek Museum this afternoon.

Winter Park painting guru Don Sondag and 2013 Winter Park Paint Out participant Don Sondag paints in the front gardens of the Polasek Museum this afternoon.

So, the most awesomeness – funny how that word is fine with spell check . . . hmmmmmm – part of this week has certainly been the Albin Polasek Museum and Gardens’ Winter Park Paint Out. Oh, how I have enjoyed this event. One thing I LUV about it is that it’s spread across a whole week. There are many events I enjoy which take place in an evening or during a single day. Some even go a whole weekend. But it’s nice to have one to savor, to enjoy leisurely as I have time, as I go looking here and there for free-range artists on a mission to paint. I had some real favorites developing, but after going by the Polasek Museum earlier today, seeing new works, checking out the ones now hung inside the museum, I may have only been able to narrow it down to the entire group. There are some truly wonderful pieces of art hanging in there now, others to come. It’s a bit like Christmas with a paint smell hanging in the air. Thanks to Debbie Komanski, the staff and volunteers at the Polasek, to all these wonderful artists for providing me such engaging, fun and beautiful entertainment this week!

Okay, time for some TGIF-ing! Holy bricks and Spanish moss, I LUV Winter Park! 🙂

Happy Weekend!  I met little Jake on Park Avenue this afternoon, as he was having lunch with his mom.  My three might be able to get a paw in that bag!  :-)

Happy Weekend! I met little Jake on Park Avenue this afternoon, as he was having lunch with his mom. My three might be able to get a paw in that bag! 🙂

Happy Weekend!

FASHION SHOW PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE NEW BISTRO ON PARK AVENUE: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.548299225221506.1073741826.478690598849036&type=1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

