What A WONDERFUL Local Week This One Is!

Coach Beast!  The Glee table and its LUVable coach from this past weekend's Dinner on the Avenue!  YES, he / she was there with a rotisserie chicken!

Coach Beast! The Glee table and its LUVable coach from this past weekend’s Dinner on the Avenue! YES, he / she was there with a rotisserie chicken!

I hear voices. I think something and it often reminds me of a movie line, something from entertainment. As I start to type tonight I think “Oh my goodness, oh my goodness” and there’s Shirley Temple in my head. Oy. And I admitted it!

But “oh my goodness” times 2 is an apt summary of the last number of days and, I believe, the week ahead. There’s so much fun stuff, so many enjoyable events which go on in Winter Park and the surrounding area from fall to now. Still some ahead, but everyone knows summer around here calms a bit. So, I savored the deliciousness of my absolute FAVORITE event — Dinner on the Avenue — a lot this past weekend. And, I plan to take in another favorite, the Winter Park Paint Out, with some similar gusto this week. Not a lot that makes them similar I guess, except that they both take place right here in our own backyard and they both celebrate the creativity of individuals, their artistic abilities and amazing talents. That stuff gets my blood pumping; it’s fun.

The Carnival cruise people were CRAZY fun!  I kept coming back again and again . . . to laugh, take in more!

The Carnival cruise people were CRAZY fun! I kept coming back again and again . . . to laugh, take in more!

Every Dinner on the Avenue seems to amaze me. I get caught in the moment, can’t believe how awesome it is. When Winter Park lets its collective hair down for an evening of anything and everything Locals can come up with, it can be pretty darn funny! When I think back on those four hours now I see nothing but smiles and laughter.

WHO would have thought about a whole theme around red Solo cups? The group which did a very BLUE prom two years ago, that’s who! A fan of the event as I am, and even more now a fan of the people who come back year after year after year with such terrific and ENGAGING tables, I’ve been amused over the last few days to view my photographs and realize I am able to connect some dots year to year. Yeah, you guys, the Richard Simmons fans, a few years ago you were super heroes! My, how the mighty have fallen! 😉 And red Solo cup woman — yes, IN the cup — I have photos of you from your prom. Sweet, huh? And Dowager Countess Lady Grantham, if I’m not mistaken, in a prior life you were Carmen Miranda! You were all so wonderful two years ago. Yet, I think you’ve managed to improve with age. I also think some ‘Sister Wives’ were roller derby pros this time, no? Was there an Edible Orlando guy who was now a footman for Downton Abbey? Not as sure about those. Fun to consider the metamorphoses around me.

Am I right?  I think I'd seen the Locals before!  PLEASE share, if you know them, and confirm!  :-)  THANKS!

Am I right? I think I’d seen the Locals before! PLEASE share, if you know them, and confirm! 🙂 THANKS!

I always say I LUV Winter Park, have told the story of how we came here and such. Today, as I was photographing a visiting artist from Sarasota here for the Winter Park Paint Out, after we’d introduced ourselves and I told her of my Locally-focused efforts, that some will simply call or introduce me now as ILUV, she asked what I do LUV about Winter Park. I told her all the usual things I say, how I feel like it just fits me, that it’s comfortable, the charm of Park Avenue and the whole environment, that there’s Rollins College with its gorgeous architecture and setting and more, but what I casually mentioned and should have accented more is that I truly do also LUV the people. Maybe I don’t always think about that, but after an event like Dinner on the Avenue, seeing my friends and neighbors become my favorite grownup playmates, seeing them showing off their amazing talents and creativity, seeing them enjoying this community as I do, I realize this LUV for Winter Park is an airborne virus of which I never wish to be cured. This is a truly special place and I appreciate all the crazy characters I interacted with on Park Avenue this past weekend, reminding me of what I had not forgotten. Thank you. Thank you for an incredible, wonderful evening and thank you for contributing so enthusiastically and colorfully to my adopted hometown.

Today I caught many Winter Park Paint Out participants sticking closer to base camp as it rained off an on.  Among them was Ken DeWaard of Wisconsin, painting on the grounds of the Polasek Museum.

Today I caught many Winter Park Paint Out participants sticking closer to base camp as it rained off an on. Among them was Ken DeWaard of Wisconsin, painting on the grounds of the Polasek Museum.

The Winter Park Paint Out, organized by the Albin Polasek Sculpture Museum and Gardens and its Executive Director, Debbie Komanski, is now underway for a new year. Events I look forward to typically take place in one evening. I anticipate them, they arrive and they pass so quickly. Aside from the amazing works of Local scenes and landmarks created during a whole week and then put on display at the Polasek during one wonderful evening of fun, I LUV that this is an event which takes place out in the open during entire days, with artists showing up all along Park Avenue, the various parks, around Rollins College, each artist capturing our Local environment in their own unique way. I caught a few out there today and will be talking about them and their works more all week. When I see a paintings evolve, how an artist develops an image in his or her own way, see how he or she sees it in their mind, I’m always a little thrilled. One stroke of paint brush is not impressive, but put hundreds and thousands of them together and they can and do produce magic. There’s magic all around this week. Make sure you catch some of it in action!

I will be writing like a mad man this week. That’s a promise to some and if you’re reading this, you know who you are! 🙂

Until tomorrow . . . holy bricks & Spanish moss, I LUV Winter Park!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What A WONDERFUL Local Week This One Is!

  1. Susan says:

    Great article! Yes! We we Sister Wives turned into Roller Derby! A side by side picture of the girls would be hilarious!! I will work on it

  2. I knew it! 🙂 I’ll see what I can work up!

Leave a Reply

